BOSTON, Mass. – Eight Oregon State rowers have been announced as part of the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) All-Academic Team for the 2018-19 academic year, the IRA Board of Stewards announced recently. OSU rowers Tyler Gray, Jacob Randall and Hunter Smith represented the Beavers on the all-academic team. To be eligible for recognition a student-athlete must have maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.35 or higher, completed one full year at their institution (freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible), be an institutional letter winner and also competed at the 2019 IRA National Championship Regatta. The award marks the third straight IRA All-Academic honor Smith, a senior from Roswell, Ga. who recently graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering. Smith is also a three-time Pac-12 All-Academic honoree. For Randall, a junior majoring in fisheries and wildlife sciences, it is the second straight year he has been recognized by the IRA, while Gray, a junior studying BioHealth Sciences earned his first IRA accolades. Both have been selected to the Pac-12 All-Academic teams twice. Smith and Randall both raced in the Beavers’ Varsity 8 all season, while Gray was in OSU’s lead crew for all but one race during the spring. The trio helped OSU to a 20th place finish at IRA Championships last month. In all, 281 student-athletes from 28 member institutions were recognized.