North Bend, OR, The Zonta Club of the Coos Bay Area is pleased to announce the 2019 recipients of $17,500 in scholarship funds. Receiving Science Technology Engineering and Math STEM Scholarships are Alora Oberg, North Bend $3,000 and Alyssa Monohon, North Bend $2,000. Receiving a $1,500 Career – Technology Education CTE Scholarship is Christal Kralicek, Coos Bay. Zonta Club #1 and #2 $2,000 Scholarships were awarded to Shelby Waterman, Bandon and Ella Hutcherson, North Bend. Amanda Matthews of Coos Bay will receive the $2,000 Memorial Scholarship awarded to a student with break in their college studies.  The Z-Club $1,000 Scholarship is awarded to Jessie Jacquot and Skylar Lucas both of North Bend, for students actively involved in a Z-Club at their high school. The $1,000 Young Women in Public Affairs (YWPA) was awarded in March to Isabel Winston, Bandon. The YWPA award is a Zonta International program created to encourage women 16-20 to participate in public affairs and community service. Recipients are selected for evidence of their volunteer leadership and dedication to the empowerment of women. Winston will automatically be entered into Zonta District 8 competition for a chance to win an additional $1,000. All recipients were honored at the May 17th Zonta Scholarship Luncheon at the Saw Blade Room at the Mill Casino. Funds for scholarships are raised at the club’s annual Zonta Celebrity Dinner and Auction. The 22nd auction fundraiser is scheduled for February 29, 2020. Almost 30 applications were received this spring making the selection process highly competitive. The mission of Zonta International is to improve the legal, economic, health, educational, and professional status of women world-wide through service and advocacy.  Zonta International celebrates its 100th Centennial Anniversary November 8th of his year 1919-2019. For more information about Zonta contact Greg Dalton 541-297-0569.