UO release – EUGENE, Ore. – The “World’s Greatest Athlete,” an iconic middle distance runner, a ground-breaking sprinter, Oregon’s first NCAA women’s indoor track and field national championship team and a football player who left his mark both on the field and in the service of his country comprise an impressive Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2020. The University’s 29th Hall of Fame class features five-time NCAA champion and two-time Olympic gold medalist in the combined events Ashton Eaton (2006-10), five-time NCAA champion middle distance runner Andrew Wheating (2006-10), seven-time all-America sprinter Keshia Baker (2006-10), record-setting defensive lineman Nick Reed (2005-09) and the NCAA national champion 2010 women’s indoor track and field team. “The 2020 Hall of Fame class represents the dawn of a golden era for track and field as well as an elite Duck football player,” said director of athletics Rob Mullens. “The Hall of Fame recognizes the best in Oregon Athletics history, and the class of 2020 is exceptional with its tremendous impact, including national champions and All-Americans.” To be eligible for induction into the Oregon Athletics Hall of Fame, which originated in 1992, former athletes, coaches, administrators and teams associated with the school’s intercollegiate athletics success must have departed the University a minimum of 10 years earlier. The 2020 honorees will formally join the elite collection of 213 athletes and 28 teams previously selected at the Hall of Fame banquet, the date of which will be determined later this year.

Related Posts